January 11, 2011

  • The letter I wrote to my no-longer potential creative-writing teacher

    I had some questions for NVCC’s (a community college) creative-writing teacher:

         Hi,
        
         My name’s Chris Graham.  I was wondering about your Creative Writing I class.  I see that it’s full, according to NOVA’s website, but I’m wondering if anybody has dropped out?  If you do have an open slot, would I be able to fill it, having missed the first class?  I don’t have ENG 112 as a prerequisite, but I do have ENG 111 and got straight A’s in that class.  And, actually, I qualified to go into an honors English class (scored a 99 on whatever test it was I had to take before enrolling), but there were only eight other people or so in that class and I was really looking forward to meeting people.  So I took the non-honors class.  (This was a year ago, by the way.)
         If you have an open slot in your class, and if you don’t mind that I haven’t taken English 112, I have one more question: Is there any going up to the front of the class to read our garbage?  Or is it all just student-to-teacher?

         Chris

    The teacher responded:

         Chris,
        
         Creative writing is closed for the this semester.  I am not taking new students.
         As for your questions, “garbage” is not how I describe honest effort in creative writing.
         In addition, English 112 is required and that requirement can not be waived.  Hope you find another suitable class for your spring schedule.

         Best to you, 

         Dr. Casal

    This came across to me as arrogant.  I wrote back:

          Hi,
        
         “Garbage” is how a self-deprecating–or heck, even modest–writer describes his stuff.  No need for us to think too highly of ourselves, is there?  Though I know colleges do tend to prefer the highfalutin over the humble (even the community colleges).  I wasn’t suggesting that what you teach is garbage; I can’t make that judgment, having never participated in your class.
         But as far as my questions…well, I still have them because you didn’t answer them.  Are students required to read their, er, magnificent masterpieces out loud so that the whole class can throw their adoration upon them for writing the community-college creative-writing-class paper of the century?
        
         Humbly,

         Chris

    Think she’ll let me into her class next semester?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *